Southern Pride?

“Southerners should feel deep burning hatred towards the Confederate flag and the rich aristocrats who brought it into existence, but many do not. Sadly, the tactics used by economic and political forces in the antebellum south are still being used to manipulate people today.”
In this article, Nick Mullins makes connections between the Southerners of the Civil War and those of today that should make you see some things differently.

The Thoughtful Coal Miner

640px-Stone_Mountain_Carving_2 Stone Mountain, Georgia | Photo by Jim Bowen

When I was a teenager, I went to a meeting of the new Sons of Confederate Veterans chapter in my home town. I quickly became caught up in the ideals of the SCV and hoped desperately that I could find a Confederate soldier within my lineage so I could join.

I was not racist thanks to a good upbringing, nor were many of the SCV members in my home town. The head of the chapter made it clear to newcomers that racism would not be tolerated in any way, shape, or form. Despite this fact, we were nevertheless engaged in downplaying the atrocity of slavery in an attempt to reconcile our past and defend our identity as southerners.

In our shallow minded understandings, we thought the war was about classism and freedom from oppression. By being a part of the SCV, I…

View original post 803 more words

Categories: Baldridge Tree | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

