The Self-Serving Hustle of “Hillbilly Elegy”

My concern, as this article makes clear, is: “That Vance in no way represents my Appalachian upbringing is less distressing than the sheer amount of people who, usually without reading the book, automatically assume that he does.”

Tropics of Meta

grandpa-and-grandma-march-1957

As one of a smallish group of liberal Appalachian ex-pats, I have always considered myself an ambassador for my place of birth. I have tried to respond graciously to less than good-natured jokes about familial relations and general backwardness in the Appalachian region, and highlight the pride I still take in the work ethic and common decency of my family and community.

Lately, every inquiry has been framed around J.D. Vance’s Hillbilly Elegy: whether I have read it or whether conditions for “my people” are as dire as described in the book. Vance’s memoir might have eventually faded from relevance, as there is little glamour to be found in the cored and denuded hills of the region. Then desperate Appalachians came in out droves to back Donald Trump’s improbable run to the White House.

While it is debatable what profit the Appalachian will reap from a Trump presidency, Vance…

View original post 1,266 more words

Categories: Baldridge Tree | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

